University of Indianapolis Office of Ecumenical and Interfaith Programs
Ecumenical & InterfaithSearchUIndy Home
Resources for

The Jerry Israel Interfaith Service Award (Established in 2005)

Awarded annually by the Office of Ecumenical & Interfaith Programs, this award is named after the seventh president of the University of Indianapolis (1998-2005), and recalls the ways that Jjerry Israel challenged faculty, staff, and students (particularly in the wake of September 11, 2001) to dare to engage one another with respect and hospitality and to learn to have conversations with one another about their respective religious convictions that would yield clarity, understanding, and enjoyment. The following individuals are recipients of this award:

2005- Flora Valentine
2006- Haitham Alkhateeb
2007- Ted Polk
2008- Phylis Lan Lin
2009- Lela Mixon and Toni Peabody
2010- Clyde Killian
2011- Not Awarded
2012- Mark Wolfe
2013- Paul Gabonay
2014- Candace Beitman & Kevin Corn
2015- Not Awarded